Stories of My Dad – The Baby Toy

Dad has been balding for as long as I remember. When I was little, this high forehead led to a minor misadventure.

Dad got the brilliant idea to take a suction cup baby rattle (the kind for use on high chair trays) and stick it on his forehead. He then proceeded to lie down on the floor and play with me. Things were going fine for a while. Real father-son bonding time.

Then, without warning, I grabbed the rattle and POP! I yanked it off of his head, leaving a large hickey behind dead center in his forehead. There was no missing it nor concealment for it.

He went to work the following day and one of his coworkers said, “Baby toy, eh?” “Yep.”, was dad’s reply.

Leave a Reply

